Bettie Page, O Win At CineKink
Tuesday, October 24, 2006

NEW YORK — The Notorious Bettie Page and O: The Power of Submission captured top honors at the Fourth Annual CineKink Film Festival in New York.

The Notorious Bettie Page won the festival award for extraordinary mainstream depiction of kink. Directed by Mary Harron (American Psycho), the 2006 movie followed the controversial career of pinup queen Bettie Page. Chris Bauer, Lili Taylor and David Strathairn starred in the movie, with Gretchen Mol in the title role.

Adam and Eve's O: The Power of Submission won the audience choice award for best narrative feature. The 160-minute hardcore title is a modern-day adaptation of the classic erotic novel, The Story of O, and stars Carmen Luvana, Kylie Ireland, Shayla Laveaux, Justine Joli, Adrianna Nicole, Evan Stone and Tommy Gunn. Nina Hartley makes a special guest appearance.

Lisa Vandever, co-founder and director of CineKink, said that the audience award for O: The Power of Submission is a step in the right direction for erotica.

"Part of what CineKink is about is breaking down the barriers that say, 'This is film and this is porn,'" she told XFANZ. "A quality story is a quality story."

CineKink will also be hitting the road in January for a cross-country tour. Vandever said that the tour will start in San Francisco before moving on to Los Angeles, Seattle, Portland and Chicago.

Next year's festival is set for Oct. 16-21. Keep an eye on the CineKink website for more details. Vandever said they'll be open for submissions next March.

Other festival winner include:


Best narrative short (tie):

Guy101 (Ian Gouldstone, 2005, UK, 8 minutes) and Hitchcocked (David Young, 2006, USA, 8 minutes).

Best Experimental Short:

Filthy Food (T. Arthur Cottam, 2006, USA, 5 minutes).

Best Documentary Short:

Want (Loree Erickson, 2006, Canada, 9 minutes).

Honorable mention awards:

Do You Take It? (Kirby Ferguson, 2006 Canada, 3 minutes).

Honey and Bunny (Eva Midgley, 2004, UK, 10 minutes).

Hot and Bothered: Feminist Pornography (Becky Goldberg, 2003, USA, 37 minutes).


Best Documentary Feature:

Vice & Consent (2006, USA, 56 minutes).

Honorable Mention:

Webcam Girls (Aerlyn Weissman, 2004, Canada, 52 minutes).

Enjoy this story? Share it with others!
Blog This Now | Permalink:
Add XFANZ to your RSS reader / Webmasters, add XFANZ content to your site!
Fans, Celebs, Webmasters & Studios: Get involved with XFANZ!
IN THE NEWS more »
Here’s a no-holes-barred gonzo which y ... Go »
Cuban mystique is a rare … cosmic phen ... Go »
Adria Rae is featured in Porn Pros’ ... Go »
AMK Empire has announced the release of ... Go »
ATKingdom has announced the release of i ... Go »
Kelsi Monroe today will perform an exclu ... Go »
Michelle Austin Films has officially rel ... Go »